The University of Arizona

Advanced Search
Catalogs The Books The Store News & Events Contact

How to order—

Call our order department at
1-800-621-2736, click here for secure online ordering, or check with your favorite book store!


New Mexico-Arizona Book Award Winners

Congratulations to all this winners of this year's New Mexico-Arizona Book Award winners. Special recognition to Edward de Steiguer, author of Wild Horses of the West; Bill Broyles and Diane E. Boyer, editors of Field Man: Life as a Desert Archaeologist; and Sara Sue Hoklotubbe, author of The American Cafe for winning!

Wild Horses of the West won in the history catagory. In Wild Horses of the West, J. Edward de Steiguer provides an entertaining and well-researched look at one of the most controversial animal welfare issues of our timeā€”the protection of free-roaming horses on the West's public lands. This is the first book in decades to include the entire story of these magnificent animals, from their evolution and biology to their historical integration into conquistador, Native American, and cowboy cultures.

Field Man: Life as a Desert Archaeologist by Julian D. Hayden and edited by Bill Broyles and Diane E. Boyers was awarded in the biography of Arizona category. Field Man is the captivating memior of renowned southwestern archaeologist Julian Dodge Hayden, a blue-collar scholar who bucked the conventional thinking on the ancient world in the New World.

The American Cafe by Sara Sue Hoklotubbe was honored in the Fiction mystery/suspense category. It is the second book i the Sadie Walela series, set in the heart of the Cherokee Nation.

Congratulations to all!

Top of Page

(800) 621-2736
(520) 621-1441

© 2017 The University of Arizona Press
Main Library Building, 5th Floor
1510 E. University Blvd.
P.O. Box 210055
Tucson, AZ 85721-0055